Fort Mill School District names top teachers, staff

news@fortmilltimes.comFebruary 14, 2013 

— The Fort Mill School District announced its 2013 Teacher and Support Staff Employees of the Year today.

Winners were nominated and voted on by their peers at each school or facility.

Each teacher and staff member will serve in the 2013-2014 school year on the district’s Teacher and Classified Liaison Committees. The committees meet monthly with the superintendent and district administrators to discuss ideas about the district and schools, according to the release.

A winner in each category will be announced in August 2013 during the first school board meeting of the 2013-2014 school year.

2013 Teachers of the Year: Mary Elizabeth Kinard, World History, Fort Mill High; Jose Figuero, Spanish, Nation Ford High; Leslie Nivens, eighth grade math, Banks Trail Middle; Mary Strat Lake, Family and Consumer Science, Fort Mill Middle; Angela Toms, eighth grade science, Gold Hill Middle; Sara Wallace, Special Education, Springfield Middle; Blair Wright, Kindergarten, Fort Mill Elementary; Chris Beasley, third grade, Gold Hill Elementary; Cindy Colonna, second grade, Orchard Park; Megan Mongelli, technology, Pleasant Knoll Elementary; Kendall Tough, first grade, Riverview Elementary; Roberta Martin, art, Springfield Elementary; Lipi Pratt, fourth grade, Sugar Creek Elementary.

2013 Support Staff of the Year: Charlotte Hendrix, School Secretary, Fort Mill High; Dana Gibson, School Secretary, Nation Ford High; Kim Rinks, Instructional Assistant, Banks Trail Middle; Angela Payne, Instructional Assistant, Fort Mill Middle; Sara Jo McKinney, Bookkeeper, Gold Hill Middle; Lou Wylie, Technology Assistant, Springfield Middle; Debbie Morshead, Instructional Assistant, Fort Mill Elementary; Angie Davis, Instructional Assistant, Gold Hill Elementary; Lisa Salerno, Crossing Guard, Orchard Park; Grenda Dountz, Nurse, Pleasant Knoll Elementary; Henry Stewart, Crossing Guard, Riverview Elementary; Kelly Brugge, Instructional Assistant, Springfield Elementary; Deidra DalPoggetto, Receptionist, Sugar Creek Elementary; Gwen Hoyle, Cafeteria Manager, Student Nutrition; Michele Jolly, Maintenance Painter, Maintenance/Operations; Chuck Wallace, Network Engineer, Technology/District Office; Frances Cook, Bus Driver/OPES/GHMS, Transportation.

Fort Mill Times is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service