Tega Cay’s Breakers win 5th consecutive Metrolina title

mbanks@comporium.netJuly 1, 2013 

— Stop if you’ve heard this before.

For the fifth straight year, the Tega Cay Breakers have won the Metrolina Swim Championship, claiming their sixth title in the past seven years Saturday at the Rock Hill Aquatics Center.

“I am thrilled with my swimmers,” said Breakers head coach Cindy Van Buskirk. “I am proud of my kids. It was a wonderful competition.”

Van Buskirk said she knows of at least five team records broken during the championship meet.

Tega Cay easily dominated the event, winning by 143 points over Rock Hill Country Club, which finished in a surprising second place just 17 points ahead of the third-place Baxter Barracudas. Baxter was missing several key swimmers, which might have helped Rock Hill into that second place spot.

Tega Cay won two of the eight relay events and Baxter won four. Individually, the Breakers won 16 events and Baxter won 17 events, so it was a surprise when Rock Hill County Club edged the Barracudas for second place.

“The kids swam strong,” said Baxter head coach Christine Johnson. “I am really proud of them. If we were to take second, third or fourth, I would have left here smiling.”

Tega Cay had two multiple winners – Joe Orehek and Michelle Case – who won two events each.

Individual winners for Tega Cay were:

Joe Orehek – boys’ 11-12 50-yard freestyle and 50-yard breaststroke

Michelle Case – girls’ 15-18 50-yard breaststroke and 50-yard butterfly

Josie Chandler – girls’ six and under 25-yard freestyle

Elizabeth Crumly – girls’ 11-12 50-yard freestyle

Noah Everingham – boys’ 13-14 50-yard freestyle

Elizabeth Miller – girls’ six and under 25-yard breaststroke

Elizabeth Scales – girls’ 9-10 25-yard backstroke

Owen Corkey – boys’ 11-12 50-yard backstroke

Andrew Scales – boys’ 13-14 50-yard backstroke

Brian Cavanaugh – boys’ 13-14 100-yard individual medley

Julia Cavanaugh – girls’ 9-10 25-yard breaststroke

Shelbey Fuller – girls’ 11-12 50-yard breaststroke

Brielle Michaeli – girls’ 13-14 50-yard breaststroke

David Trotter – boys’ 13-14 50-yard butterfly

Baxter had five multiple winners, four of which – Jenna Pehowski, Meg Wiggins, Stephen Kim and Erynn Black – won three events. Ben Sullivan won two events. However, they had just three other winners after those five people.

Individual winners for Baxter were:

Jenna Pehowski – girls’ 13-14 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard individual medley and 50-yard butterfly

Meg Wiggins – girls’ 15-16 50-yard freestyle, 50-yard backstroke and 100-yard individual medley

Stephen Kim – boys’ 9-10 25-yard backstroke, 100-yard individual medley and 25-yard breaststroke

Erynn Black – girls’ 11-12 50-yard backstroke, 100-yard individual medley and 50-yard butterfly

Ben Sullivan – boys’ six and under 25-yard freestyle and 25-yard backstroke

Bailey Fallon – girls’ 13-14 50-yard backstroke

Ben Fenwick – boys’ 11-12 100-yard individual medley

Noah Griffin – boys’ 13-14 50-yard breaststroke

Fort Mill Times is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service