Fort Mill, NaFo wrestlers to represent at Upper State

mbanks@comporium.netFebruary 3, 2014 

— Fort Mill qualified 10 wrestlers and Nation Ford eight for the Upper State individual tournament later this month as both teams had a good showing at the Region III-AAAA tourney.

The individual tournament, held Saturday at Fort Mill High, qualified wrestlers for the Feb. 21-22 tournament at Laurens High School. The top five wrestlers from each weight class qualified for the tournament.

All but one of Fort Mill’s wrestlers in the tournament qualified for the Upper State tournament and five were crowned Region champs.

“We had some big wins in the semifinals,” said Jackets’ head coach Chris Brock. “We are pretty excited. Now is a good time to start improving as individuals and as a team.”

The Jackets’ AJ Leitten beat South Pointe’s Roderick Whitlock by pin fall in the second period at 106 pounds and Eddie Byrams won by forfeit at 120 pounds. Fort Mill’s Jake Strong beat the Bearcats’ Noah Mead 12-5 at 126 pounds during a heavily contested back-and-forth match and the Jackets’ Jack Debbout bulldozed Clover’s Harrison Priode, pinning him in the first period to win the 145-pound title.

Fort Mill’s BJ Hurst finished out the Region title runs by the Jackets with a first period pin fall over Northwestern’s Eli Judd at 195 pounds.

Other qualifiers for the Jackets were John Brotemarkle at 113-pounds, Nick Gray at 132-pounds, Matt Neill at heavyweight (285), Nigel Bostick at 138-pounds and Evan Stankovits at 152-pounds.

The only other two Region title winners that didn’t belong to Rock Hill, Fort Mill or South Pointe was York’s Cole Rumfelt at 132-pounds and Lancaster’s Quinshun Evans at 182 pounds. Rumfelt beat Nation Ford’s Michael Allen 10-4 and Evans beat Rock Hill’s Stephen Chesney 12-5. Allen was the only Falcons wrestler to get to the tournament finals.

York, Nation Ford and Northwestern qualified eight wrestlers for the Upper State tournament. The Falcons brought 11 wrestlers into the tournament.

“The ones that didn’t qualify were some of our younger wrestlers,” said Falcons’ head coach Leon Boulware. “I am real proud of our effort we have given.”

Despite hurting his knee in the semifinals and losing by injury default, the Falcons’ Collin Godbout battled back was still able to finish fourth and qualify for Upper State after having to forfeit his consolation match and chance to finish third.

Nation Ford’s Houston Vandiver finished fourth at 145 pounds, as did Robert Land at 152-pounds and Sean Davis at 160 pounds.

Finishing fifth for Nation Ford was Ben Cripe at 126 pounds, Justin Ettell at 170 pounds and Major Strait at 182 pounds.

2014 Region III-AAAA Tournament Placers

Key: Clover (C), Fort Mill (FM), Lancaster (L), Nation Ford (NF), Northwestern (NW), Rock Hill (RH), South Pointe (SP), York (Y).

106: 1. AJ Leitten (FM), 2. Roderick Whitlock (SP), 3. Michael Avore (Y), 4. Coleman Hoffman (RH), 5. Austin Oldenburg (C).

113: 1. Logan Sexton (RH), 2. Marvin Galette (SP), 3. John Brotemarkle (FM), 4. Karson McCarter (C), 5. Michael Chumswang (NW).

120: 1. Eddie Byrams (FM), 2. Nick Steinberg (RH), 3. Nathan Stradford (SP), 4. Collin Godbout (NF), 5. Matt Brazzell (L).

126: 1. Jake Strong (FM), 2. Noah Mead (RH), 3. Tarik Beaulieu (SP), 4. Scotty Walker (L), 5. Ben Cripe (NF).

132: 1. Mike Miller (SP), 2. Nick Gray (FM), 3. Jharee Kerns (C), 4. Tyler Wilkins (RH), 5. Sergio Armendariz (NW).

138: 1. Cole Rumfelt (Y), 2. Michael Allen (NF), 3. Antravious Page (SP), 4. Babe Rigby (RH), 5. Nigel Bostick (FM).

145: 1. Jack Debbout (FM), 2. Harrison Priode (C), 3. Christian Moore (RH), 4. Houston Vandiver (NF), 5. Brandon Moiser (L).

152: 1. Kris Hughes (RH), 2. Michael Grubb (SP), 3. Jamison Humburg (NW), 4. Robert Land (NF), 5. Evan Stankovits (FM).

160: 1. Cody Childers (RH), 2. Hunter Allen (NW), 3. Joe Bryant (C), 4. Sean Davis (NF), 5. James Good (Y).

170: 1. Ricky Blackmon (SP), 2. Ben Demarest (RH), 3. Brett Sullivan (NW), 4. Sam Ferguson (Y), 5. Justin Ettell (NF).

182: 1. Quinshun Evans (L), 2. Stephen Chesney (RH), 3. Kobe Tate (NW), 4. Thomas Wilkerson (Y), 5. Major Strait (NF).

195: 1. BJ Hurst (FM), 2. Eli Judd (NW), 3. Emilo Navarez (RH), 4. Evan Danehower (Y), 5. Jeremiah Sadler (SP).

220: 1. Cameron Bell (RH), 2. Zach Conrad (C), 3.Chance Kelly (Y), 4. Naychon Gregory (NW), 5. Corey Morgan (SP).

285 (Hwt.): 1. Travis Strait (RH), 2. Ethan Whitesides (Y), 3. Nick Adams (SP), 4. Matt Neill (FM), 5. Jack McGivern (C).

Fort Mill Times is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service